Oklahoma, Oklahoma State players on Maxwell and Bednarik Lists

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Three Oklahoma players and one Oklahoma State player have been named to the pre-season Maxwell Award watch list.

The Sooners' Landry Jones, Kenny Stills and Dominique Whaley, and the Cowboys' Joseph Randle were part of the list released Monday by the Maxwell Football Club. The award is given to the nation's outstanding player.

Oklahoma's Demontre Hurst and Tony Jefferson also were named to the Bednarik Award list, which is given to the nation's top defensive player. Oklahoma State's Brodrick Brown also made the list.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 19.

The winners will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 6