10th person sentenced in DEA Drug Bust - KSWO, Lawton, OK- Wichita Falls, TX: News, Weather, Sports. ABC, 24/7, Telemundo -

10th person sentenced in DEA Drug Bust

Posted: Updated:

After sifting through hundreds of pages of court documents, NewsChannel 10 found that 10 of the 13 people who were sentenced in connection to the DEA drug sting in Amarillo, will spend a total of 68 years behind bars. 

Sammy Galan, was sentenced Friday in Amarillo Federal Court, to more than 12 years in prison for distribution and possession with intent to distribute 50 grams or more of methamphetamine. 

Court documents show Miguel Carrasco, Floyd Teafatiller and Jessie Herrera also have the same charges. 

Carrasco will serve 10 years, Teafatiller was sentenced to more than six, and Herrera will serve four. 

Traci Ramos, who was also charged with distribution and possession with intent to distribute 5 grams or more of methamphetamine will serve nine years in prison. 

Curtis Gonzales and Shannon Harris have been charged with conspiracy to distribute and possession with intent to distribute controlled substances. 

Gonzales is sentenced to more than 12 years behind bars, while Harris will be serving more than six years in prison. 

A man that was previously featured on the Amarillo Police Fugitive File, for unrelated crimes, has been sentenced to five years in prison for his role in the Mexican Drug Cartel operation. 

Thiraphong Vongphrachanh is serving his sentence after being charged with possession of a firearm in furtherance of a drug trafficking crime.

While in town, the DEA also cracked down on illegal 8-liners that were connected to the Cartel.        
Conrad Nava was charged with operating an illegal gambling business and is sentenced to just over a year in prison.

Arcel Martinez was also sentenced to just over three years for his role in the unlawful use of a communications facility. 

Sentencing is still pending for Omar Mendoza, Bobby Holman, and Joey Vallejo, who are all expected to be in court in February.


Powered by WorldNow
KSWO-TV, 1401 SE 60th Street
Lawton, OK 73501

Telephone: (580) 355-7000
Fax: (580) 357-3811
Email: news@kswo.com

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KSWO. All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.