19 counties denied FEMA aid, unemployment aid running out of time

19 counties denied FEMA aid, unemployment aid running out of time

JACKSON County, Okla._Jackson County is among 19 Oklahoma counties than have been denied FEMA disaster aid for individuals and businesses.

The state asked for individual assistance following the flooding, tornadoes and high winds that destructively swept through Oklahoma in May and June. Forty-five counties—including Comanche, Cotton, Jefferson, Stephens and Tillman—have been approved for individual assistance.

"While I am grateful to FEMA for granting assistance to many in Oklahoma whose homes or businesses were damaged, I am disappointed we could not secure federal aid for those living in these 19 counties," said Fallin. "I encourage those individuals to seek help through organizations like the American Red Cross, Oklahoma Baptist Disaster Relief and the Salvation Army.  Oklahomans looking to help should consider making monetary donations to those charitable organizations or others like them."

Workers in nine Oklahoma counties that were approved for assistance have one week left to file for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

Workers and self-employed individuals in those counties who lost work or wages due to the severe storms and tornadoes between May 5 and June 22 have until August 6 to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance. Assistance is available to those who don't qualify for regular state unemployment benefits.

To be eligible, individuals must have been scheduled to work in the disaster area, but no longer have a job or a place to work or could not get to work because of disaster damage. Self-employed business owners who have lost all or part of their livelihood may also be eligible.

The nine counties are Carter, Jefferson, Latimer, Mayes, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pushmataha, Stephens and Tulsa counties.

More information about Disaster Unemployment Assistance can be found here.