Big 12 champ Oklahoma league-high 9 1st teamers by coaches - KSWO 7News | Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Mayfield wins Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, Ogbah shares Defensive Player of the Year

IRVING, Texas (AP) - Oklahoma junior quarterback Baker Mayfield is the Big 12 offensive player of the year, while the league's top defensive award is shared by Oklahoma State defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah and Baylor nose tackle Andrew Billings.

The All-Big 12 team and individual awards selected by the league's 10 coaches were announced Wednesday.

Bob Stoops is coach of the year after the playoff-bound Sooners won their ninth Big 12 title. Oklahoma has a league-high nine first-team picks.

Mayfield has 35 touchdown passes in his first season for the Sooners, two years after he was Big 12's top freshman offensive player in his only season at Texas Tech.

Ogbah has a Big 12-leading 13 sacks, and 28 in his career. Billings has 15 tackles for losses.


Big 12:

AP college football website:

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly