Governor Fallin requests major disaster declaration

Governor Fallin requests major disaster declaration

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK (KSWO) –Governor Mary Fallin has requested a major disaster declaration from the federal government as a result of the winter storm, ice, sleet and flooding that started Dec. 26.

Governor Fallin is requesting individual assistance for homeowners, renters and business owners in nine counties. She's also requesting public assistance to help municipalities, counties, rural electric cooperatives and the state with infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the storm in 41 of Oklahoma's 77 counties.

Individual assistance was requested for Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pushmata and Sequoyah counties.

Public assistance was requested for Adair, Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Cherokee, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, McCurtain, McIntosh, Major, Mayes, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pittsburg, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Sequoyah, Tillman, Washita and Woods counties.

Preliminary assessments report 108 homes were destroyed and 99 others were damaged. The affected counties have a combined estimated $48 million in infrastructure damage and response costs.

More than 200,000 homes and businesses across the state lost power, and there were numerous road closures and dangerous travel conditions. The storm is being blamed for four deaths and 104 injuries.

Additional counties may be added at a later date if these are approved.

Copyright 2016 KSWO. All rights reserved.