10 apply to run for Lawton City Council

10 apply to run for Lawton City Council

LAWTON, OK (KSWO) –The filing period to run for Lawton City Council has closed and two incumbents are in the running.

The filing period opened Monday, April 4, and closed Wednesday, April 6, at 5 p.m. Three council seats are up for grabs.

Ward 3, Derek C. Berry, Caleb Davis and Michael Dixon are all vying for the Ward 3 seat. The seat is currently held by Rosemary Bellino-Hall.

Ward 4, three people have put their names in the running: Barbara E. Curry, Jody Maples and Jay Burk. Burk currently serves as the Ward 4 councilmember.

Ward 5, Dwight Tanner, who currently serves as the councilmember, is running again. Kim Shahan, James Wilkinson and Leslie Chism are running for the seat as well.

The three candidates that go on to serve on the Lawton City Council will start or continue to serve in 2017.

Copyright 2016 KSWO. All rights reserved.