Free Workshop - "Entertainment Law for Filmmakers

City of Lawton and the Lawton Arts & Humanities Council
P.O. Box 1054
Lawton, OK 73502
580-581-3470 & 581-3471

Free Workshop - "Entertainment Law for Filmmakers: Intellectual Property, Marketing, & Distribution" with Chad Burris, Attorney/Producer

A must for anyone involved in filmmaking!

The City of Lawton and the Lawton Arts & Humanities Council is very pleased to announce that registration is now open for workshop, "Entertainment Law for Filmmakers" with Chad Burris, Attorney and Award-Winning Producer.

This workshop is free and open to the public, however, due to seating capacity, reservations are required. It will be held Friday, September 21 from 6 - 10pm   Attendees will hear about Intellectual Property, Marketing, and Distribution as it relates to filmmaking. The workshop will be held at the Comanche Nation College, 1608 SW 9th Street, Lawton, OK.  The Comanche Nation College Invitational Festival follows the next day, Saturday, September 22 from 10:00 am - 10:00 pm.

Call the Arts & Humanities Division in Lawton at 580-581-3470 or 580-581-3471 to make reservations for this exciting opportunity!

This workshop is sponsored by the City of Lawton, the Lawton Arts and Humanities Council, Comanche Nation College, Comanche Nation College Invitational Film Festival, Oklahoma Arts Council, and the National Endowment for the Arts


Chad Burris belongs to the Chickasaw Nation, native of Oklahoma, where he currently resides.  He produced the short film Goodnight Irene by writer/director Sterlin Harjo, which screened at the Sundance Film Festival, Berlin, Tribeca, Los Angeles Film Festival, Aspen Short Fest and many other notable festivals around the world.

Burris also produced Harjo's feature length film, Four Sheets to the Wind.  The project was a participant in both the Sundance writers and directors labs, nominated for the NHK award, and recipient of the Annenberg Award.  The project was invited to participate in the competition section of the 2007 Sundance Film Festival.  Burris is also in development on Harjo's second feature, Before the Beast Returns, which won best screenplay in the 2006 Tribeca All Access Program.

Additionally, Burris is producing the second feature from award winning filmmaker Blackhorse Lowe. The feature, titled The Left Handed Path, was a participant in the 2006 Sundance writers lab.  Burris was awarded the Sundance Institute's Mark Silverman Award for 2007 for his work on the project.

Burris is a graduate of the University of Tulsa Law School, where he received his J.D. with an emphasis in Indian Law. He devoted much of his time in law school toward developing programs that would attract, through federal economic development incentives, film production to Indian country.

Burris is also the co-owner of the Oklahoma based Indion Entertainment Group (IEG).  IEG facilitates financing and production for projects shooting in Oklahoma.  The company utilizes Oklahoma state tax incentives to encourage local investment in film projects.  Having a background in both film production and law, Burris realized the value of local incentives for film production and set out to construct a business model that would accommodate both in Oklahoma.

Burris is a member of Sundance Institute's Native Fellows program, he is the president of the Oklahoma Territory Film Council, and serves as a director for a local non-profit group.  Burris works closely with local and state groups to encourage support of the arts in Oklahoma.

Finally, Burris has his own production company, Dirt Road Productions, and is currently in development on projects through that company.


Established in 2004, this festival invites many of today's top American Indian filmmakers to show their latest work. This year, the festival will be held Saturday, September 22 from 10am -10 pm, at the Comanche Nation College, 1608 SW 9th Street, in Lawton, OK.  The public is welcomed to attend the festival. Call 580-591-0203 for information or visit the college's website  or the Comanche Nation's website,  Past filmmakers (*Award-Winning/Honors) have included; Dan Big Bee Jr. and Lily Shangreaux, Big Productions*, Hokte Productions*, Annette Arkeketa, Terri Poahway, Matt Jenkins Production*, Tvli Jacobs*, Darrell Kosechequetah, Mike Kosechequetah*, Uda Nauni, The Native Zone Productions, Rod Pocowatchit*, Sundance Fellow, Sunrise Tippeconnie*, Deron Twohatchet *, Levi West* Emmy, Jan Woomavoyah *, Nathan Young *, Ava Hamilton*, Marc Hausman, Katela Black Elk*, & Sterling Harjo*.