OSU's Dove named Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year

Associated Press - March 10, 2008 12:45 PM ET

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Oklahoma State University senior Marcus Dove has been named the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Dove won the honor Monday in a vote by the league's head coaches after sharing the award last season. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own players.

Kansas State freshman Michael Beasley earned both the Big 12 Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors.

Missouri junior DeMarre Carroll was named Newcomer of the Year, Sherron Collins of Kansas won the Sixth Man Award, and Texas' Rick Barnes is the Big 12 Coach of the Year.

Oklahoma freshman Blake Griffin was named to the All-Big 12 First Team, while Byron Eaton of OSU earned a spot on the third-team roster.

Copyright 2008 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.