LPD award winners share their experience

LPD award winners share their experience
LPD officers express gratitude for awards

LAWTON, OK (TNN) -When the awards ceremony started LPD Chief James Smith said this event was more than just a time to recognize these officers, but to recognize the families as well. One officer who has shown career long dedication to Lawton is one of the 30 year ring recipients, Captain Ricahrd Franz.

“The only place I’ve worked in law enforcement is here in Lawton, and it’s been truly a blessed experience that’s not just been with me, but with this community, with my family. This is something that wasn’t just my sole accomplishment. It took other people in my life to help get me here. To have those people around me and surround me was very meaningful,” said Capt. Franz

The crowd couldn’t get any louder than when they announced the winner of the Uniform Officer of the year award. Kolton Jones was honored to receive the award, but he reminded me that every LPD officer recognized or even those who aren’t deserve this award.

Officer Jones said, “It’s very special, it’s a once and a lifetime opportunity. It’s great to be recognized but it doesn’t even compare to what everybody else does .A lot of people didn’t get noticed today but they did just as much as me.”

He also said it wasn’t anything specific that helped him win this award, rather just working hard to keep his team safe and the rest of Lawton safe.

“It’s just about going out and going the extra mile I guess. Helping out your fellow teammates, going above and beyond. Helping the citizens as much as you can," said Jones,

The ceremony began with officers getting awarded for saving lives. Officer Burton said he was extremely grateful he was able to help a family stay together.

“When they’re in that moment of peril and they are looking to you to be the one to act and actually fix that problem or assess the situation and make that call. So, it feels great when the outcome’s good and everybody stays alive and is able to see their family on another day.,” said Officer Darrel Burton.

Seeing how important these officers are to the rest of the department, and seeing how proud their family and friends were made the event Friday extremely special.

Full list of award winners:

Mark Floyd - Medal of Valor

Tim Poff - Police Shield

James Carr - Police Shield

Bobby Witten- Life Saving Award

Darrel Burton - Life Saving Award

Christopher Tally - Life Saving Award

Dustin Kellogg - Life Saving Award

Kolton Jones - Uniform Officer of the Year

Brad Delozier - Non-Uniform Officer of the Year

Anthony Bray - Supervisor of the Year

Vicki Ange - Civilian of the Year

30 ring recipients:

Captain Charles Crawford

Captain Richard Franz

DC Will Hines

Sgt. Paul Huysoon

Copyright 2019 Texoma News Network. All rights reserved.