OSU hires defensive coordinator

STILLWATER, Okla. -- Tim Beckman left BCS runner-up Ohio State on Friday to become the new defensive coordinator at Oklahoma State.

Beckman spent the last two seasons as as cornerbacks coach with the Buckeyes, who lost to Florida 41-14 on Jan. 8 in the BCS national championship game. He replaces Vance Bedford, who was named Michigan's secondary coach on Thursday after two seasons leading Oklahoma State's defense.

"We will try to put pressure on the quarterback, which I feel is the key to stopping today's offenses," Beckman said. "We will be sound and play with an aggressive attitude as we swarm to the football."

Beckman helped turn a secondary that didn't have a returning starter into one of the best in the Big Ten. Antonio Smith, a walk-on who had spent his career on special teams, had a big senior season in 2006 at cornerback in his first substantial playing time.

Before arriving at Ohio State, Beckman was the defensive coordinator at Bowling Green for six years, including two under current Florida coach Urban Meyer. In 2001, he was a finalist for the Frank Broyles Award given to the nation's top assistant after his defense led the Mid-American Conference in total defense, scoring defense, rushing defense, turnovers gained and scoring margin.

The job had been open since Jan. 12.

"Coach Beckman was the best person for the position," Oklahoma State coach Mike Gundy said. "The process took a long time because my staff and I wanted to hire the best fit for Oklahoma State. We wanted someone who could also help us continue the recruiting momentum we have established."

A graduate of the University of Findlay (Ohio), he has also coached at Elon University and Western Carolina and been a graduate assistant at Auburn.

He is from Berea, Ohio -- the same hometown as Ohio State coach Jim Tressel -- and his father, Dave, played college ball at Baldwin-Wallace under Tressel's father, Lee.

The elder Beckman coached at Iowa and later was an assistant for the NFL's Cleveland Browns and the San Diego Chargers.